Celebrating our students' success in their university applications Posted - 25/01/2019


Celebrations are the order of the day here at Reed’s following the success of our students in their university applications.  

Four students have received offers to study at Cambridge: Sam Hunt - Classics at Pembroke, Marcus Jones – Archaeology at Homerton, Abigail Nicholson – Geography at Girton and Hannah Robertson – Natural Sciences at Murray Edwards. At the same time we celebrate a range of scholarships: Gregor Thomson has won a scholarship to study Percussion at the Royal College of Music, Maggie Talibart has won a scholarship to study composition at the prestigious Berklee College of Music in Boston and Alice O’Hagan has won a full Hockey scholarship for Central Michigan University. In an increasingly competitive world, this is a fantastic achievement, and demonstrates the breadth of subjects about which our students are passionate. 

Offers are also flooding in from a variety of prestigious institutions, including Russell Group universities, with many students receiving offers to read Medical and Veterinary Science. 

Mark Hoskins, Headmaster warmly congratulated the students, “I am delighted for all of our students who are securing offers to study a whole range of subjects from top universities; what is so inspiring for me, is speaking to our students listening to their plans for the future and their determination to succeed. I am most grateful to the whole Sixth Form team and all the subject teachers for the excellent support and inspiration they give to our students.”

Sam Hunt, who has secured an offer to read Classics at Pembroke College added, "Cambridge has been an ambition for some time, and I'm very pleased to have realised it. I'm especially grateful to Ms Morland and the Classics Department, and Mr Smith, for all the help and guidance they offered me in making this ambition a reality. Now I shall naturally devote most of my energies over the next few months to 'getting the grades'!"

Pictured (left to right): Alice O'Hagan, Abigail Nicholson, Maggie Talibart, Gregor Thomson, Sam Hunt, Hannah Robertson, Marcus Jones

Oxbridge and scholars (5)

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now